SRMTA Saskatoon

The Saskatoon Branch of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers Association is comprised of 84 members who have one or multiple degrees or diplomas in piano, voice, musical theatre, clarinet, saxophone, theory, or music in early childhood. These experienced, qualified teachers offer both a solid grounding in the basics and can carry students through goals of playing for personal enjoyment, competitions and festivals, examinations, or diplomas. The added benefits of studying with a member of our professional association include performing in multiple recitals around Saskatoon, receiving awards and scholarships, workshops and masterclasses with guest artists, and entering performance, pedagogy, and composition competitions. We are committed to excellence in the musical education of our students, teaching with dedicated ability and experience, and a commitment to continuous professional development.

Fingers on piano keys

The Saskatoon Registered Music Teachers’ Association was formed as a branch of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers’ Association in 1932 and its original objectives have been achieved in many ways:

  • to provide a professional forum for discussing matters musical
  • to secure a more recognized standing before the public and
  • to broaden the friendliness among members of the profession

Original, local founding members Lyell Gustin and George Palmer worked towards the Act of Registration with the Saskatchewan government, and long serving members such as Walter Thiessen, Mary Friesen, and Penny Joynt have carried the association to its current professional standing. The Saskatoon Branch has taken part in many aspects of music in the city by holding regular meetings with workshops for teachers, annual student recitals, hosting provincial and national conventions (the first of which was held in 1939 at the Bessborough Hotel), and supporting many other musical organizations such as the Musical Art Club and the Saskatoon Music Festival. The Young Artist Series, which is now a part of the national organization of the same name, was launched in Saskatoon by Lyell Gustin. The Saskatoon Branch continues to attract new, young music teachers to the profession and provide quality, dedicated music instruction to over 2000 Saskatoon area students.

Lyell Gustin at the Knabe

The Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers’ Association was formed in 1932 as a provincial organization of music teachers, several years after the formation of smaller branches throughout the province. The first provincial convention took place in Regina in 1934 with Mr. George Palmer, Saskatoon being elected as the first Provincial President and Grace Knowlden, Regina as secretary.

SRMTA became a member of the newly formed Canadian Federation of Music Teachers’ Associations in 1935 at a founding meeting in Vancouver. Mr. George Palmer represented the provincial association on this historic occasion.

Due to the efforts of Lyell Gustin, George Palmer, Grace Knowlden, and Edith Mash, the objective of further raising professional standards was achieved when the Act of Registration was passed in 1938. The president of the University of Saskatchewan, Walter Murray and Dean Moxon helped pilot the act through the legislature. This Act was the first of its kind in the Dominion. The Act was then revised in 2003 to bring it to its current status.